This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. I'm fine with this Cookie information
Follow is on Twitter Like us on Facebook Follow us on Instagram

*UPDATED* Hospital visiting changes, home testing kits, Vaccine info, general info and guidance for public, NHSGGC staff, and community-based services.

Diagnosis Types

Understanding conditions affecting the eye can be difficult. We hope this labelled diagram will help describe different parts of the eye that can be affected by cancer.

• Cornea- this is the clear window at the front of the eye that enables us to see properly.

• Conjunctiva- this is “the skin” of the eye, which helps protect us from infections.

• Lens- this helps focus the light on the back of the eye.

• Iris- this is the coloured part of the eye which changes shape and controls the amount of light entering the eye

• Ciliary Body- This is responsible for producing fluid called “aqueous” inside the eye. It also helps change the shape of the lens so we can focus when reading.

• Vitreous- this is the “jelly” inside the eye.

• Choroid- this pigmented layer covers the whole of the back of the eye. It absorbs excess light entering the eye and helps stop symptoms of glare.

• Retina- this layer has the photoreceptors of the eye (like the film of a camera). It captures images from the outside world and sends them to the brain.

• Optic Nerve- This nerve connects the eye to the brain.

The choroid, cilary body, and the iris make up the uveal tract. This is where melanomas (cancer of the eye) can grow.

Last Updated: 25 June 2018