This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. I'm fine with this Cookie information
Follow is on Twitter Like us on Facebook Follow us on Instagram

*UPDATED* Hospital visiting changes, home testing kits, Vaccine info, general info and guidance for public, NHSGGC staff, and community-based services.

European Computer Driving License (ECDL)

The European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL) is an internationally recognised qualification which enables people to demonstrate their competence in computer skills.

ECDL is designed specifically for those who wish to gain a benchmark qualification in computing to enable them to develop their IT skills and enhance their career prospects.

What does ECDL cover?

The ECDL syllabus is designed to cover the key concepts of computing, its practical applications and their use in the workplace and society.

It is broken down into seven modules and there is a test after each module that candidates will have to come into a Library or Learning Centre to sit. When all seven modules have been successfully passed candidates will receive their ECDL certificate.

The modules may be taken in any order and over any period of time up to three years - even all at once - offering maximum flexibility.

The seven modules that make up the ECDL are:

  1. IT Security
  2. Using the computer and managing files
  3. Word processing (Word)
  4. Spreadsheets (Excel)
  5. Database (Access)
  6. Presentation (Power Point)
  7. Information and communication

Application process

A significant upgrade to the ECDL curriculum will be taking place over the next few months.  We are therefore not taking any new applications at present.  In the interim here are a couple of websites that also offer free training:

  • (Free to register and access courses. Option to purchase completion certificates but you don’t need to)


Last Updated: 11 August 2020