This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. I'm fine with this Cookie information
Follow is on Twitter Like us on Facebook Follow us on Instagram

*UPDATED* Hospital visiting changes, home testing kits, Vaccine info, general info and guidance for public, NHSGGC staff, and community-based services.

Who we are, what we do

Our Mission Statement

NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde’s purpose is to:

“Deliver effective and high quality health services, to act to improve the health of our population and to do everything we can to address the wider social determinants of health which cause health inequalities."

Who we are, what we do

NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde (NHSGGC) is one of 14 regional NHS Boards in Scotland.

The Board provides strategic leadership and performance management for the entire local NHS system in the Greater Glasgow and Clyde area and ensures that services are delivered effectively and efficiently.  Responsible for the provision and management of the whole range of health services in this area including hospitals and General Practice, NHSGGC works alongside partnership organisations including Local Authorities and the voluntary sector.  NHSGGC serves a population of 1.14 million and employs around 39,000 staff – it is the largest NHS organisation in Scotland and one of the largest in the UK.

To find out more about the functions of the Board, for example membership or meeting dates go to our NHSGGC Board microsite.

If you want to know more about the NHS in Scotland then please visit

Facts and Figures

  • Serves a population of 1.14million
  • Employs around 39,000 staff
  • Contracted with around 242 GP Surgeries (790 General Practitioners)
  • 35 Hospitals of different types
  • Dental Services in more than 270 locations
  • Almost 180 Optician practices
  • Over 50 Health Centres and Clinics
  • More than 300 Pharmacies.
  • Annual budget of £3.1billion.

Area Covered

From Gourock to Easterhouse, Lennoxtown to Eaglesham, Alexandria to Bishopbriggs, NHSGGC serves the people of:

  • East Dunbartonshire
  • East Renfrewshire
  • Glasgow City
  • Inverclyde
  • Renfrewshire
  • West Dunbartonshire

To find out more about your local community services please contact your local Health and Social Care Partnership

Last Updated: 17 December 2020