This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. I'm fine with this Cookie information
Follow is on Twitter Like us on Facebook Follow us on Instagram
COVID-19 (Coronavirus info)

Information and guidance for public, NHSGGC staff, and community-based services.  Hospital visiting restrictions now in place.

Different Types of REC

There are two main types of RECs:

Recognised RECs

These are recognised by the United Kingdom Ethics Committee Authority (UKECA) for the review of clinical trials of investigational medicinal products (CTIMPs), in accordance with The Medicines for Human Use (Clinical Trials) Regulations 2004, for the class of research. The recognition took effect on 1st May 2004.  

Authorised RECs

Established under GAfREC but not recognised by UKECA To get help with the type of REC suitable for your research project then please refer to the following link

In the West of Scotland we have one Recognised REC and three Authorised RECs 


Last Updated: 02 December 2019