This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. I'm fine with this Cookie information
Covid-19 (Coronavirus)

Information and guidance for public, NHSGGC staff, and community-based services.  Hospital visiting restrictions now in place.

North Sector Laboratory


The Clinical Microbiology department is situated in Glasgow Royal Infirmary on the 4th floor of the New Lister Building:

Clinical Microbiology

Level 4 New Lister Building

10-16 Alexandra Parade


G31 2ER

0141 201 8551


Routine services

The Department is fully committed to the provision of a quality laboratory and clinical service, and is accredited by the United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS), using the International Standard ISO: 15189. The Department Quality Policy defines the principal aims towards the provision of this service. The Quality Manual provides information relating to the accreditation, organisation, management and structure of the Department.


UKAS Registration Number 8078

The following link contains the Laboratory Schedule of Accreditation. Fully listing all tests that are inlcuded in the scope of accreditation. 

Schedule of Accreditation for Laboratory 8078      Schedule


For full information about the department and the services provided please refer to the user manual

North User Manual


Environmental services

For information about the environmental services provided please refer to the user manual

This is a UKAS accredited testing laboratory for the isolation and enumeration of Legionella.  Accreditation No. 4211. 

 For the accreditation schedule refer to link:  Schedule


Hours of Service

Weekdays              08.30hrs – 20:30hrs

Weekends              08.30hrs – 20:30hrs 

Public Holidays       08.30hrs – 20:30hrs

Laboratory Core Hours are 08.30hrs – 17.00hrs. There is a reduced number of staff in the laboratory between 1700hrs and 20:30hrs in the evening, during the weekend and on public holidays. Hence, a limited service is available.


Contact Details

Clinical Microbiology Laboratory Office (All general enquiries through this number):

0141 201 8551

Key Personnel – Clinical Microbiology Staff



Head of Microbiology Service GG&C

Professor Brian Jones

Head of Department & Consultant Microbiologist

Dr Mairi McLeod

Consultant Microbiologist

Dr Linda Bagrade

Consultant Microbiologist

Dr John Hood

Consultant Microbiologist

Dr Aleks Marek

Consultant Microbiologist

Professor Andrew Smith

Consultant Microbiologist

Dr Barbara Weinhardt

Consultant Microbiologist

Dr Sara Jamdar

Consultant Microbiologist

Dr Laura Cottom


Key Personnel - Microbiology Biomedical Scientist Staff



Technical Services Manager

John Mallon

Service Manager

Janet Young

Operations Manager

William Ennis

Integrated Systems manager

Sandra Higgins

Quality Manager

David Jordan

I.T Manager

Tony Speekenbrink

Elaine McCormick