This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. I'm fine with this Cookie information

Timetable of changes to new hospitals

Here are the dates when key services were transferred to the new hospitals located in The Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Campus:

Southern General

  • 2nd May - Outpatients, GP out-of-hours service and therapy department
  • 1st-3rd May - Inpatients, A&E, theatres, Intensive Therapy Unit and High Dependency Unit
  • 8th May - ENT (Ear Nose and Throat) inpatients

A&E at old Southern General closed at 8.00am on 2nd May.

Western Infirmary

  • 26th April - Renal dialysis
  • 9th-10th May - Vascular and renal inpatients
  • 30th-31st May - All remaining inpatients and A&E

A&E at the Western Infirmary closed at 8.00am on 30th May.

(The Outpatient Department, GP out of hours, the West Glasgow Maternity Unit and a new West Glasgow Minor Injuries Unit now operates from this site until they are transferred to the Yorkhill site in October 2015).

Victoria Infirmary and Mansionhouse Unit

  • During the weekends of 16th-17th May and 23rd-24th May - All services will transfer

A&E at the Victoria closed at 8.00am on 16th May.

Royal Hospital for Sick Children (Yorkhill)

  • 10th-12th June - Inpatient and day surgery services
  • 12-14 June - Outpatient services

A&E at RHSC (Yorkhill) closed at 8.00am on 10th June.

Commemorative booklets of the old hospitals will be available online soon.