This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. I'm fine with this Cookie information

2016 Chairman's Awards Shortlist

Chairman’s Awards 2016 shortlist

Chairman, John Brown today (Wednesday 28 September) announced the Chairman’s Awards 2016 shortlist. 

The judging panel; John Brown, Chair, Lyndsay Lauder, Head of People and Change – Organisational Effectiveness,  Margaret McGuire, Director of Nursing, Donald Sime, Employee Director, Joyce Brown, Chief Nurse – Clyde and Graham Watson, Scottish Health Innovation Ltd. (SHIL, Chairman’s Awards partner) met at the end of August and had the challenging task of going through over 180 varied nominations.  

After much debate the Chairman and judging panel are pleased to announce the following shortlist:

Clinical practice

Dr Claire Alexander and team, new Lister Building GRI, for their work on a diagnostic test for Acanthamoeba Keratitis (AK)

Dr Hazel Miller, consultant in medicine for the elderly for driving forward the delirium agenda in GRI and Lightburn Hospital.

The Tissue Viability team, who work across the organisation for the implementation of Pressure Ulcer Daily Risk Assessment (PUDRA)

Improving Health

The acute Money Advice Services team for providing patients with information which can help prevent unnecessary worry and anxiety and supports recovery and tackles poverty.

The InS:PIRE team, at GRI for developing an eight week programme that addresses post ICU wellbeing.

Jim Wylie, job coach who supports employees from the Project Search initiative at the QEUH.

International Service

Dr Adrian Stanley, consultant gastroenterologist, GRI for his work in Malawi.

John McGarrity, Technical Manager Medical Equipment based at the QEUH for his work with our procurement department and the charity Raising Malawi.

The Specialised Burns team, ward 45 GRI for their work in Ghana and Bangladesh.


Jade Gilmore, staff nurse at Towhead Health Centre for her care and concern about an elderly patient.

Seth Squires and Allan Boal from the IBD team, at the RAH for demonstrating the very best of nursing, always putting the patient first.

Tricia Houghton, Alison Hamilton and Lesley Diggines from ward 63, QEUH, for their care, understanding and compassion.

The nursing team on ward 11D, QEUH for their quick action when faced with a fire on their ward.

Patient Centred Care

The #Engage team, specialist children’s services for their efforts to raise awareness of specialist children’s services and improve the reach to vulnerable children and young people in NHSGGC.

Improving the Cancer Journey team, for establishing and delivering a new holistic service for cancer patients in Glasgow.

Tom Chalmers, Peer Support Worker, Mile End Community Mental Health for his significant contribution to the quality of mental health services.

Using Resources Better

Chris Rowley and his team, based at the RAH  for redesigning the Clyde Orthotics service to provide an NHSGGC wide orthotic service which provided equity, improved response rate and improved quality for service users.

Fiona McMahon, based at the QEUH for her role in developing a system to ensure syringe drivers are more easily accessible.

Rona Agnew and team, South Sector, Glasgow City HSCP for the development of community TPTNS clinics.


Bert Muir, mental health services volunteer for his commitment and dedication to acute services over the last 11 years accompanied by his Therapet dog (three generations of golden retrievers).

Carol Henry, ward 36, RAH for her outstanding contribution as a ward volunteer providing companionship and support to long term patients.

ScotsERVS emergency medical transport team, based at West Glasgow ACH for their services to NHSGGC.

The winners will be announced at our Celebrating Success event on Monday 7 November along with the overall FTFT winners and The Cullen Prize winners.